Small Robert Schumann Competition

With the Small Robert Schumann Competition the city of Zwickau, the Robert Schumann Conservatory and the Robert Schumann Society seek to promote young talented pianists and provide a platform to demonstrate their musicianship. The competition, taking place every two years, addresses children and teenagers up to the age of 19 not having started their professional musical studies yet and having their permanent residence in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The focus is on Robert Schumann’s piano work, as far as the young pianists are able to master these compositions. According to the competitors’ preferences and because a lot of participants requests in recent years, the contest has been opened for music by other Romantic composers as well. Following a maxim Schumann established once — “Honour the old, but bring a warm heart to what is new. Hold no prejudice against names unknown to you” — the young pianists are also required to present one piece by a composer born after 1880.

The competition takes place in three age groups and its procedure depends on the competitors’ age. Participants up to the age of 10 come first, followed by those between 11 and 14 years. Competitors in the age group of 15 to 19 years finish the competition. Each age group is awarded three prizes. The competitor with the highest score is awarded a special prize by the Robert Schumann Society Zwickau. Additionally the best interpretation of a work composed after 1970 is recognized with a special award. The competition is followed by the award ceremony and the final concert, both taking place in the Robert Schumann Hall of the Conservatory.

Kleiner Schumann Wettbewerb

Mit dem Kleinen Schumann Wettbewerb fördern die Stadt Zwickau, das Robert-Schumann-Konservatorium und die Robert-Schumann-Gesellschaft Nachwuchspianisten fördern und ihnen zugleich ein Podium bieten, um ihr Können zu präsentieren. Der Wettbewerb, der alle zwei Jahre stattfindet, richtet sich dementsprechend an Kinder und Jugendliche bis zum Alter von 19 Jahren, die noch kein Musikstudium aufgenommen und ihren ständigen Wohnsitz in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland haben.

Im Mittelpunkt steht das Klavierwerk Robert Schumanns, soweit es von den jungen Pianisten bewältigt werden kann. Dem Wunsch und den Neigungen vieler Teilnehmer der vergangenen Jahre entgegenkommend, ist der Wettbewerb neben dem Werk Schumanns auch anderen Komponisten seiner Zeit geöffnet worden. Einer Musikalischen Haus- und Lebensregel Schumanns folgend - Ehre das Alte hoch, bringe aber auch dem Neuen ein warmes Herz entgegen. Gegen dir unbekannte Namen hege kein Vorurteil - wird auch ein Werk einer Komponistin oder eines Komponisten, geboren nach 1880, als Wettbewerbsbeitrag von allen Teilnehmern gefordert.

Der Wettbewerb wird in drei Altersgruppen durchgeführt, nach denen sich auch der Ablauf richtet. Die bis zu 10 Jahre alten Teilnehmer beginnen, es folgen die 11- bis 14-jährigen und die 15- bis 19-jährigen beschließen den Wettstreit. Für jede Altersgruppe sind drei Preise ausgesetzt. Der Teilnehmer mit der höchsten Punktzahl erhält einen Sonderpreis der Robert-Schumann-Gesellschaft Zwickau e. V. Weiterhin wird die beste Wiedergabe eines ab 1970 komponierten Werkes mit einem Sonderpreis ausgezeichnet. Die Preisverleihung und das Abschlusskonzert finden im Anschluss an den Wettbewerb im Robert-Schumann-Saal des Konservatoriums statt.