International Robert Schumann Competition

The International Robert Schumann Competition is one of the most renowned music competitions in the world and takes place in two categories: piano and singing. Pianists, female and  male singers respectively are ranked separately and a first, second and third prize are awarded. Since 1989 the best song accompanist receives an additional prize. Since 1996 the competition takes place every four years.

The International Robert Schumann Competition was initiated 100 years after Schumann’s death in 1956. On this occasion a large music festival — in those days still pan-German — was held in Zwickau, the city of the composer’s birth, and his reconstructed birthplace was officially opened as Schumann Museum and Archive. Simultaneously young pianists and singers competed with each other for the best Schumann interpretation in Berlin. Later on the award winners appeared at laureate concerts in Zwickau.

The constellation was similar in 1960 — the year of the 150th anniversary of Robert Schumann’s birth — when the second Schumann Competition in the categories voice and string quartet was held in Berlin followed by a further Schumann Festival in Zwickau. It was not until the third competition that this music event finally moved to Zwickau. Since then the two categories piano and singing have been set. However, the venues varied within the city of Zwickau, including the chamber music hall of the Robert Schumann House, the former Varieté Lindenhof, the idyllically situated Schwanenschloss, which does not exist anymore, as well as the Cathedral Parish Hall. Nowadays the competition takes place in the Robert Schumann Conservatory and in the art nouveau ambience of the Concert House and Ballroom ‚Neue Welt‘. 

Since 1961 the International Robert Schumann Competition has been a member of the World Federation of International Music Competitions (Fédération Mondiale des Concours Internationaux de Musique) with its headquarters in Geneva/Switzerland. In 2011 the competition, with respect to its piano category, also joined the Alink-Argerich Foundation.

The list of award winners include names enjoying international reputation such as the pianists Peter Rösel, Nelly Akopian, Dina Joffe, Dezső Ránki, Balázs Szokolay, Yves Henry, Eric Le Sage, Dana Ciocarlie and Florian Noack or singers such as Siegfried Lorenz, Mitsuko Shirai, Edith Wiens, Mary Ann Hart, Matthias Görne, Britta Schwarz, Bodil Arnesen, Annette Dasch, Anna Lucia Richter and Mauro Peter. Meanwhile a number of these winners join the competition’s jury, thus guaranteeing the artistic continuity of the Robert Schumann Competition.

The competition programme — for which the Robert Schumann Society of Zwickau is responsible in its role as a co-organizer — has constantly changed over the years and decades. But Schumann’s great piano works and song cycles still form its immovable cornerstones.

Internationaler Robert-Schumann-Wettbewerb

Der Internationale Robert-Schumann-Wettbewerb ist einer der traditionsreichsten Musikwettbewerbe weltweit. Er findet in zwei Kategorien statt: Klavier und Gesang. Pianisten, Sänger und Sängerinnen werden einzeln gewertet und erhalten jeweils einen 1. bis 3. Preis. 1989 wurde erstmals ein zusätzlicher Liedbegleiter-Preis vergeben. Seit 1996 hat sich für den Wettbewerb ein vierjähriger Rhythmus etabliert.

Zur 100. Wiederkehr von Schumanns Todestag wurde der Internationale Robert-Schumann-Wettbewerb 1956 ins Leben gerufen. Während in der Geburtsstadt des Komponisten, in Zwickau, ein großes, damals noch gesamtdeutsches Musikfest aus diesem Anlass stattfand und das rekonstruierte Geburtshaus als neue Heimstatt von Schumann-Museum und -Archiv eingeweiht wurde, wetteiferten in Berlin junge Pianisten und Sänger um die beste Schumann-Interpretation, um im Anschluss bei Preisträgerkonzerten in Zwickau aufzutreten. Eine ähnliche Konstellation ergab sich 1960, im Jahr des 150. Geburtsjubiläums von Robert Schumann, als nacheinander in Berlin der II. Schumann-Wettbewerb in den Fächern Gesang und Streichquartett und in Zwickau ein weiteres Schumann-Fest veranstaltet wurden. Erst mit dem dritten Wettbewerb „übersiedelte" dieses Musikereignis endgültig nach Zwickau. Die Fächer Klavier und Gesang blieben von da an verbindlich. Die Austragungsorte in der Robert-Schumann-Stadt Zwickau wechselten. Zu ihnen gehörten zeitweilig der Kammermusiksaal des Robert-Schumann-Hauses, das Varieté Lindenhof, das idyllisch gelegene, heute nicht mehr vorhandene Schwanenschloss und das Domgemeindehaus. Heute sind es das Robert Schumann Konservatorium und der Jugendstilsaal im Konzert- und Ballhaus „Neue Welt“.

Der Internationale Robert-Schumann-Wettbewerb ist seit 1961 Mitglied der Weltvereinigung der Musikwettbewerbe mit Sitz in Genf (Fédération Mondiale des Concours Internationaux de Musique/World Federation of International Music Competitions) und mit seiner Klavierwertung seit 2011 Mitglied der Alink-Argerich-Foundation.

Unter den Preisträgern des Zwickauer Wettbewerbs finden sich Namen, die internationalen Glanz gewannen, so z. B. die Pianisten Peter Rösel, Nelly Akopian, Dina Joffe, Dezső Ránki, Balázs Szokolay, Yves Henry, Eric Le Sage, Dana Ciocarlie und Florian Noack oder Sänger wie Siegfried Lorenz, Mitsuko Shirai, Edith Wiens, Mary Ann Hart, Matthias Görne, Britta Schwarz, Bodil Arnesen, Annette Dasch, Anna Lucia Richter und Mauro Peter. Einige von ihnen rückten inzwischen in die Wettbewerbsjury auf und garantieren so die künstlerische Kontinuität des Robert-Schumann-Wettbewerbs

Das Wettbewerbsprogramm, für das die Robert-Schumann-Gesellschaft Zwickau als Mitveranstalter des Musikereignisses verantwortlich zeichnet, hat sich zwar im Lauf der Jahre und Jahrzehnte immer wieder im Detail geändert, doch bilden die großen Klavier- und Liedzyklen Schumanns die unverrückbaren Eckpfeiler.