The Robert Schumann House Archive hosts the biggest Schumann collection in the world. Its emphasis is on the comprehensive autobiographical, literary and musical legacy of the composer which the city of Zwickau was able to purchase in 1925 from the couple’s oldest daughter Marie, then living in Interlaken in Switzerland. Founded as “Schumann Museum” the collection always had its focus on Clara Schumann (née Wieck) as well. The most important autograph manuscripts encompass first drafts for Schumann’s opera ‚Genoveva‘ Op. 81 and his song cycle ‚Poet’s Love‘ Op. 48, the working manuscripts regarding his ‚Album for the Young‘ Op. 68, the ‚Carneval Jest from Vienna’ Op. 26 and the autograph of the score of the overture to ‚Hermann and Dorothea‘ Op. 136. But for example there are also interesting autograph sketches, title drafts and manuscript copies to all his four symphonies. In addition the Robert Schumann House hosts numerous autograph albums, among these the so-called ‚Brautbuch‘ and the legendary ‚Blumentagebuch‘, Clara Schumann’s diary during the time Robert Schumann lived in Endenich. A lot of photographs, original paintings created by artists like Eduard Bendemann, Carl Jäger and Franz von Lenbach complement the collection which encompasses a huge number of music prints as well. Particularly noteworthy is Schumann’s collection of the first editions of his complete works. Among the archive’s collection of playbills most important is Clara Schumann’s complete collection of all her concert programmes.

An index to the complete programme collection is to be found here.

Parts of this valuable collection are presented in the permanent exhibition of the Robert Schumann House with regard to life and work of Robert and Clara Schumann. In temporary exhibitions also recent acquisitions are regularly presented to the public.

The autograph manuscripts (music manuscripts and text documents) by Robert and Clara Schumann are catalogued in the SWB online catalog, a bibliographical database of more than 1200 German libraries (Library siglum: Zwi 17).

Music manuscripts by other composers are listed in RISM (Library siglum: D-Zsch).

Letters by Robert and Clara Schumann are registered in the Schumann letter database, jointly supervised by the Robert Schumann House and the Robert Schumann Research Centre in Düsseldorf (Library siglum: D-Zsch).

Because of its extraordinary archive collections the Robert Schumann House is a unique resource for biographical and musicological research regarding the artist couple and its contemporaries. The archive is the place to go for scientists from all around the world. Besides the two scientific staff positions of the Robert Schumann Research Centre in Düsseldorf, existing since 1986, an additional staff member was appointed for the New Complete Edition of Robert Schumann’s Works in Zwickau in 1992. Also the independent research work of the Robert Schumann House Zwickau is continuing to date. In cooperation with the Dresden College of music it publishes the Schumann-Briefedition (Schumann Letters’ Edition). The second series‘ — Schumann’s correspondence with friends and artist friends — is a long-term research project funded for 15 years by the Saxon Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Leipzig and involving staff positions in Dresden and the Robert Schumann House Zwickau.

Das Archiv des Robert-Schumann-Hauses beherbergt die weltweit umfangreichste Schumann-Sammlung. Schwerpunkt ist der reiche autobiographische, literarische und musikliterarische Nachlass des Komponisten, den die Stadt Zwickau 1925 von der ältesten Tochter Marie im schweizerischen Interlaken erwerben konnte. Gegründet als Schumann-Museum, stand bei der Sammlung stets Clara Schumann (geb. Wieck) ebenso im Mittelpunkt wie Robert Schumann. Zu den bedeutendsten Notenautographen zählen die Skizzen zur Oper „Genoveva“ op. 81 und zur „Dichterliebe“ op. 48, die Arbeitsmanuskripte zum „Album für die Jugend“ op. 68 und dem „Faschingsschwank aus Wien“ op. 26 oder das Partiturautograph der Ouvertüre zu „Hermann und Dorothea“ op. 136. Doch gibt es beispielsweise auch zu allen vier Sinfonie interessante Detailskizzen, Entwürfe oder Abschriften. Daneben gibt es mehrere Autographen-Alben, darunter das sogenannte Brautbuch und das Endenicher Blumentagebuch Clara Schumanns. Zur den reichhaltigen Bildersammlungen gehören zahlreiche Frühformen photographischer Aufnahmen, Originalgemälde von Künstlern wie Eduard Bendemann, Carl Jäger und Franz von Lenbach. Unter den Notendrucken ragt Schumanns Sammlung der Erstdrucke seiner sämtlichen Werke hervor, unter den umfangreichen Konzertprogrammzettelbeständen die komplette Programmsammlung Clara Schumanns.

Die komplette Programmsammlung finden Sie hier.

Ein Teil dieses wertvollen Bestandes ist im Museum des Schumann-Hauses in der ständigen Ausstellung zu Leben und Werk Robert und Clara Schumanns zu sehen. In wechselnden Sonderausstellungen werden unter anderem auch die Neuerwerbungen des Robert-Schumann-Hauses regelmäßig der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

Die Bestände an Text- und Notenautographen von Robert und Clara Schumann sind im SWB-Online-Katalog erfasst (Bibliothekssigel: Zwi 17).

Musikhandschriften anderer Komponisten können Sie hier über RISM abfragen Bibliothekssigel: D-Zsch).

Briefbestände Robert und Clara Schumanns sind in der vom Robert-Schumann-Haus und der Düsseldorfer Robert-Schumann-Forschungsstelle gemeinsam betreuten Schumann-Briefdatenbank erfasst (Bibliothekssigel: D-Zsch).

Mit seinen außerordentlich reichen Archivbeständen bietet das Robert-Schumann-Haus einzigartige Möglichkeiten für biographische und musikwissenschaftliche Forschungen über das Künstlerpaar und seine Zeitgenossen. Das Archiv ist Anlaufstelle für Wissenschaftler und Forscher aus aller Welt. 1992 wurde in Ergänzung zu den beiden seit 1986 bestehenden Mitarbeiterstellen der Robert-Schumann-Forschungsstelle Düsseldorf eine weitere Arbeitsstelle der Neuen Schumann-Gesamtausgabe in Zwickau eingerichtet. Aber auch die selbständige Forschung des Zwickauer Schumann-Hauses wird bis heute kontinuierlich weitergeführt. In Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Musik Dresden erscheint die Schumann Briefedition; Serie II, der Freundes- und Künstlerbriefwechsel, wird als fünfzehnjähriges Langzeitprojekt von der Sächsischen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leipzig finanziert, mit Arbeitsstellen in Dresden sowie im Robert-Schumann-Haus Zwickau.