Summary according to Gerd Nauhaus ‚We were seven – The Children of Robert and Clara Schumann’, in: Correspondenz Sonderheft II, Aachen 2013; and Thomas Synofzik‚ Clara Schumann und ihre Kinder, in: Clara Schumann. Ein Künstlerinnenleben, Leipzig 2019, p. 52-57 (both publications are available at the museum shop).

Marie
*Leipzig, September 1, 1841; †Interlaken, November 14, 1929

The first daughter, her father’s favourite and similitude. She was said to be cheerful and lively. After her father’s death she became the most important pillar for her mother, even her friend, and always stood close by her side. After her mother died she moved to Interlaken in Switzerland where she died in 1929. When establishing the Schumann Museum in Zwickau there were intense communications between Marie Schumann and Martin Kreisig, its first director. She donated numerous heirlooms of her parents to the new museum.

For her seventh birthday Robert Schumann gave her a booklet with compositions to “Mariechen”, as her family used to call her. Complemented and enhanced it was to become the basis of Schumann’s (financially) most successful piece of work — his ‚Album for the Young‘, Op. 68.

Elise
*Leipzig, April 25, 1843; †Haarlem, July 1, 1928

Elise Schumann was the first of the Schumann children who became independent by being appointed  a domestic music teacher for the owner of the ironworks in Gräffenbach, near Kreuznach. During the winter months 1864/65 she was the lady’s companion of Princess Anna von Hessen. Afterwards she worked as piano teacher in Frankfurt/Main, until in 1872 she became the lady’s companion of her friend Marie Berna at Büdesheim Castle. In 1877 Marie Berna matched the then 34 years old Elise with her cousin Louis Sommerhoff. The couple lived in New York for six years, then the family moved to a magnificent country estate in Frankfurt/Main and lived off the interest of the capital Louis Sommerhoff had made at the stock market.

Julie
*Dresden, March 11, 1845; †Paris, November 10, 1872

Talented and gifted, but with a delicate health — that is Julie, the third daughter of Clara and Robert Schumann. Johannes Brahms fell in love with her but never confessed his love. As a young woman she married the Italian Earl Vittorio Radicati di Marmorito and moved with him to Passerano Castle next to Torino. She left behind two sons when she died only three years after her marriage. Robert Schumann dedicated his first sonata Op. 118 to his ‚petite doll‘.

Emil
*Dresden, February 8, 1846; †Dresden, June 22, 1847

Since his birth the couple’s first son had always been ‚sickly‘ as Robert Schumann wrote in a letter to his brother Carl on June 22, 1847. Emil died at the age of just 16 months.

Ludwig
*Dresden, January 20, 1848; †Colditz, January 9, 1899

In the beginning Ludwig grew up with his brother Ferdinand, later on he received his school education in Bonn and Jena. But soon he performed worse in comparison with his younger brother due to the fact that he had strongly defective vision. After Clara Schumann moved to Baden-Baden as her main residence in 1863, Ludwig attended the grammar school in Karlsruhe as a guest student. Later on in 1864 he went to the ‚Höhere Bürgerschule‘ in Karlsruhe and afterwards started an apprenticeship as a bookseller. When he resigned from this job in May 1867 Clara Schumann found a new apprenticeship as a music trader for him; but he was dismissed shortly thereafter. Being discharged as unfit for service in the army, Clara Schumann gave him piano lessons as Ludwig wanted to become a music teacher. Between August and October 1869Ludwig was treated in a psychiatric sanatorium in Egelshofen near Lake Constance for the first time. He was accommodated in the private asylum of Dr. Friedrich Oskar Lehmann in Pirna in May 1870; since December 4, 1871 he was permanently housed in the ‚Landesversorgungsanstalt für unheilbar Geisteskranke‘ (a Saxon state asylum for incurably insane patients) in Colditz.

Ferdinand
*Dresden, July 16, 1849; †Gera, June 6, 1891

Ferdinand was Ludwig’s counterpart: He made a straight apprenticeship as banker and worked in this profession as long as he was healthy enough to do so. He served in the Franco-German war 1870/71 and came down with a severe articular rheumatism after a military exercise. Subsequently, he became addicted to morphine, which led to unemploayability and his early death. He had married in early years and fathered seven children — later on Clara Schumann took care of their education and training, accommodating the oldest siblings Julie (Julchen) and Ferdinand at her home and giving them piano lessons.

Eugenie
*Düsseldorf, Dezember 1, 1851; †Bern, September 25, 1938

The youngest daughter was born in Düsseldorf. As her siblings she grew up in various boarding schools at different places. She was the only child to attend a music college, being trained as a pianist by Ernst Rudorff in Berlin and lived with her mother in Frankfurt/Main where she became a music teacher at the Dr. Hoch’s Conservatory as well. In 1892 she moved to England, where she worked as a piano teacher for several years. This decision was made in particular due to the problems her mother had with her life companion Marie Fillunger (Fillu). After World War I they moved to the neighbourhood of her oldest sister Marie. Though she never really got to know her father, Eugenie wrote a biography of him and her ‚Memories‘ became influential and essential as a personal source.

Felix
*Düsseldorf, June 11, 1854; †Frankfurt am Main, February 16, 1879

Named after their friend Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, the son Felix is said to have been the most talented Schumann child, despite his short life. When Robert was hospitalized in Endenich, Clara was pregnant; except for a photograph Robert should never see his son. Felix is said to have been his mother’s favourite. He passed the Abitur extraordinarily successful and loved music as much as literature — like his father. Three of his poems were set to music by his godfather Johannes Brahms. Like Robert Schumann Felix initially studied law in Heidelberg, but gave up his studies (as his father did) and continued studying philosophy in Zurich. Due to a chronic lung disease, which already became evident with its first symptoms during spring 1868, Felix needed more or less permanent cures in Italy and Switzerland since April 1874. But the young man did not recover and died not even 25 years old at his mother’s house in Frankfurt/Main.

Zusammenstellung nach Gerd Nauhaus, „Wir waren sieben“ – Die Kinder Robert und Clara Schumanns“, Correspondenz Sonderheft II, Aachen 2013; und Thomas Synofzik, Clara Schumann und ihre Kinder, in: Clara Schumann. Ein Künstlerinnenleben, Leipzig 2019, S. 52–57 (beide Publikationen im Museumsshop erhältlich).

Marie
*Leipzig, 1. September 1841; †Interlaken, 14. November 1929

Die Erstgeborene – Liebling und „Ebenbild des Vaters“. Ein „heiterer lebhafter Charakter“ zeichnete sie aus, sie sollte nach dem Tod ihres Vaters zur wichtigsten Stütze, ja Freundin ihrer Mutter werden, wich ihr nicht von der Seite. Nach dem Tod der Mutter zog sie nach Interlaken, wo sie auch starb. Marie Schumann führte mit Martin Kreisig intensive Gespräche bei der Gründung des Schumann-Museums Zwickau und übergab zahlreiche Erbstücke ihrer Eltern dem Museum.

Mariechen legte Robert zum 7. Geburtstag ein Büchlein mit Kompositionen auf den Gabentisch: erweitert und verbessert sollte es die Grundlage für sein (finanziell) erfolgreichstes Werk, das Album für die Jugend op. 68 werden.

Elise
*Leipzig, 25. April 1843; †Haarlem, 1. Juli 1928

Elise Schumann war 1860 das erste der Kinder, das durch eine Anstellung als Hausmusiklehrerin bei einem Eisenhüttenbesitzer in Gräffenbach bei Kreuznach in die Selbständigkeit trat. Im Winter 1864/65 stand sie der Prinzessin Anna von Hessen als Gesellschafterin zur Seite. Bevor sie eine Stellung als Gesellschafterin der mit ihr befreundeten Marie Berna auf Schloss Büdesheim annahm, war sie bis 1872 als Klavierlehrerin in Frankfurt am Main tätig. Marie Berna vermittelte 1877 ihren Cousin Louis Sommerhoff als Bräutigam für die mittlerweile vierunddreißigjährige Schumann-Tochter. Das Ehepaar lebte sechs Jahre in New York, bevor die Familie dann einen prunkvollen Landsitz in Frankfurt am Main erwarb und fortan von den Zinsen des von Louis Sommerhoff an der New Yorker Wall Street verdienten Kapitals lebte.

Julie
*Dresden, 11. März 1845; †Paris, 10. November 1872

Talentiert und begabt, aber ohne stabile Gesundheit, so lässt sich die dritte Tochter Clara und Robert Schumanns beschreiben. Johannes Brahms verliebte sich in sie, ohne ihr jedoch jemals seine Liebe zu gestehen. Sie verheiratete sich jung mit dem italienischen Grafen Vittorio Radicati di Marmorito, zog mit ihm auf sein Schloss Passerano bei Turin. Als sie nach nur dreijähriger Ehe verstarb hinterließ sie zwei Söhne.

Die Sonate op. 118 Nr. 1 widmete Robert seinem „zierlichen Püppchen“.

Emil
*Dresden, 8. Februar 1846; †ebd., 22. Juni 1847

Der erstgeborene Sohn war seit der Geburt, so Robert Schumann in einem Brief an seinen Bruder Carl am 22. Juni 1847, „immer kränklich“, und starb bereits mit sechzehn Monaten.

Ludwig
*Dresden, 20. Januar 1848; †Colditz, 9. Januar 1899

Zunächst zusammen mit seinem Bruder Ferdinand aufwachsend, erhielt Ludwig Schumann seine schulische Ausbildung in Bonn und Jena. In seinen Leistungen blieb er jedoch bald hinter seinem jüngeren Bruder zurück, was auch auf seine starke Fehlsichtigkeit zurückgeführt wurde. Nachdem Clara Schumann 1863 ihren Hauptwohnsitz nach Baden-Baden verlegt hatte, besuchte Ludwig im nahegelegenen Karlsruhe als „Gast“ die Unterquinta des Gymnasiums in Karlsruhe, wechselte 1864 auf die dortige Höhere Bürgerschule, um dann eine Buchhändler-Lehre einzuschlagen. Nachdem er dort im Mai 1867 kündigte, fand Clara Schumann für ihn neue Lehrstellen als Musikalienhändler, wo er jedoch jeweils nach kurzer Zeit wieder entlassen wurde. Da er für eine Militärlaufbahn ausgemustert wurde, ging Clara Schumann auf Ludwigs Wunsch nach einer Tätigkeit als Musiklehrer ein und erteilte ihm selbst Klavierunterricht. Von August bis Oktober 1869 wurde Ludwig erstmals in einem psychiatrischen Sanatorium in Egelshofen am Bodensee behandelt. Im Mai 1870 kam er in die private Heilanstalt Dr. Friedrich Oskar Lehmanns in Pirna, dann ab 4. Dezember 1871 dauerhaft in die Landesversorgungsanstalt für unheilbar Geisteskranke in Colditz.

Ferdinand
*Dresden, 16. Juli 1849; †Gera, 6. Juni 1891

Das Gegenstück zu Ludwig war Ferdinand: geradlinig in Ausbildung und Beruf machte er eine Lehre zum Bankier und arbeitete in diesem Beruf so lange seine Gesundheit es zuließ. Teilnehmer des deutsch-französischen Kriegs 1870/71, erkrankte er nach einer Militärübung an schwerem Gelenkrheumatismus, wurde morphiumabhängig, was letztendlich zur Berufsunfähigkeit und zu seinem frühen Tod führte. Sehr zeitig hatte er sich verheiratet, zeugte sieben Kinder, bei denen dann später Clara Schumann sich um Erziehung und Ausbildung zu kümmern hatte und die beiden ältesten, Julie (Julchen) und Ferdinand, bei sich im Hause aufnahm und im Klavierspiel trainierte.

Eugenie
*Düsseldorf, 1. Dezember 1851; †Bern, 25. September 1938

Die jüngste Tochter wurde in Düsseldorf geboren, wuchs aber wie ihre Geschwister auch, in verschiedenen Pensionaten an unterschiedlichen Orten auf. Sie erhielt eine pianistische Ausbildung u.a. bei Ernst Rudorff in Berlin, lebte bei ihrer Mutter in Frankfurt, wo sie ebenfalls am Hochschen Konservatorium Klavierlehrerin wurde und zog 1892 nach England, wo sie mehrere Jahre als Klavierlehrerin wirkte. Vor allem die Probleme zwischen ihrer Lebensgefährtin Marie Fillunger (Fillu) und ihrer Mutter hatten den Entschluss pro England betrieben. Nach dem ersten Weltkrieg zogen sie in die Nähe ihrer ältesten Schwester Marie. Eugenie verfasste, obgleich sie ihren Vater nie wirklich kennenlernen konnte, einflussreiche und als persönliche Quelle unentbehrliche „Erinnerungen“ sowie eine Biographie ihres Vaters.

Felix
*Düsseldorf, 11. Juni 1854; †Frankfurt am Main, 16. Februar 1879

Benannt nach dem Freund Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy gilt Felix trotz seines kurzen Lebens als das begabteste der Schumann-Kinder. Als Robert in die Endenicher Heilanstalt eingeliefert wurde, war Clara schwanger; außer auf einem Bild sollte Robert seinen jüngsten Sohn nie sehen dürfen. Er gilt als der ausgesprochene Liebling seiner Mutter. Er legte ein glänzendes Abitur ab, fühlte sich wie sein Vater sowohl der Musik als auch der Literatur verbunden – immerhin drei seiner Gedichte vertonte sein Pate Johannes Brahms -, studierte wie sein Vater zunächst Jura in Heidelberg, brach dieses ebenso wie sein Vater ab, um in Zürich Philosophie zu studieren. Ein Lungenleiden, dessen erste Symptome sich schon im Frühjahr 1868 gezeigt hatten, bedingte ab April 1874 fast fortwährende Kuraufenthalte in Italien und der Schweiz. Eine Besserung blieb jedoch aus, und so starb Felix nicht einmal fünfundzwanzigjährig im Haus seiner Mutter in Frankfurt.